CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held in the Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 1 May 2014

PRESENT

Cllr P Hollick (Chairman) Cllr R C Stay (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs	A L Dodwell
	J G Jamieson
	D Jones
	M R Jones
	D J Lawrence

Cllrs Mrs J G Lawrence K C Matthews J Murray R B Pepworth M A G Versallion

Members in Attendance:		Mrs A Barker A R Bastable R D Berry L Birt M C Blair Mrs C F Chapman MBE Mrs S Clark Mrs G Clarke Mrs B Coleman K M Collins I Dalgarno Mrs R J Drinkwater P A Duckett C C Gomm Mrs S A Goodchild Ms A M W Graham Mrs D B Gurney		Cllrs C Hegley R W Johnstone D McVicar Mrs M Mustoe T Nicols B Saunders J A G Saunders M A Smith Miss A Sparrow B J Spurr A M Turner Mrs P E Turner MBE N Warren B Wells R D Wenham P Williams A Zerny
Officers in Atte	ndance:	Mr R Carr Ms D Clarke	_ _	Chief Executive Director of Improvement and Corporate Services
		Mrs M Clay	-	Chief Legal and Democratic Services Officer
		Mr M Coiffait	-	Community Services Director
		Mr D Galvin Mrs E Grant	_	Head of Financial Performance Deputy Chief Executive/Director of
			_	Children's Services
		Mrs S Hobbs Mr J Longhurst	_	Committee Services Officer Director of Regeneration and Business Support
		Mrs J Ogley	-	Director of Social Care, Health and Housing
		Ms M Peaston	_	Committee Services Manager

GPC/14/1. Membership of the Appointments Panel

The Committee considered a schedule outlining the nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel.

RESOLVED

that the membership of the Appointments Panel be appointed as indicated on the schedule attached at Appendix A to these minutes.

NOTED

that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (2-4 Conservatives and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (2 Conservatives and 1 Independent), as necessary.

(Note: The meeting commenced at 7.21 a.m. and concluded at 7.22 a.m.)

Chairman

Minute Item 1

Page 3

Appendix A

General Purposes Committee Nominations

Appointments Panel			
	Cllr Amanda Dodwell (C)		
(5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all	Cllr Peter Hollick (C)		
•			
the Executive Members with specific	Cllr David Lawrence (C)		
portfolios)	Cllr Ken Matthews (C)		
_	Cllr Julian Murray (I)		
4 (2) Conservatives			
1 (1) Independent	plus Executive Members as below:		
	Cllr James Jamieson		
	Cllr Maurice Jones		
	Cllr Mrs Carole Hegley		
	Cllr Brian Spurr		
	Cllr Nigel Young		
	Cllr Mark Versallion		
	0. h -		
	Subs:		
	Cllr David Hopkin (C)		
	Cllr Jane Lawrence (C)		
	Cllr lan Shingler (I)		
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer		
	as needed from the membership of		
	the Appointments Panel.		
	To comprise 3-5 members (2-4		
	Conservative and 1 Independent,		
	•		
	including at least 1 Executive		
	Member)		

Page 4

This page is intentionally left blank